Teixeira, Tanaka Power 9-3 Win, End Loss Streak at 3

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on email
Share on print

GAME 29: The Yankees slumbering offense woke up in time to snatch a victory for Masahiro Tanaka from the jaws of defeat. Mark Teixeira,  Jacoby Ellsbury, and Ichiro Suzuki paced the hitting, combining for 7 hits and 5 RBI. After trailing by 3 after four innings, the Yank’s scored 9 unanswered runs, including a no-doubter to right center by Kelly Johnson in the 6th.
Tanaka had a bumpy first three innings, allowing 2 HRs for a 3-0 deficit, but settled in and help Tampa’s offense down as the Yanks climbed back in the game. Teixeira’s 2-run blast to the second deck in right in the 4th got it going. Ellsbury and Ichiro continued their hot hitting, and Brett Gardner showed signs of snapping out of his mini-slump.
Dellin Betances, an emerging force in the bullpen, had a strong 8th inning, striking out 2. Preston Claiborne closed it out with a 1-2-3 ninth.

The Teixeira We Know and Love

During spring training, Mark Teixeira said he wanted to get back to posting the 30 HR/100 RBI numbers he’s delivered in season’s past. Right now, he looks to be on track, and will hopefully break the April-May slow start jinx he’s shown in recent campaigns. He is hitting to all fields and coming through in tight situations — something the Yanks really need out of Tex this year. Not to mention having a sure-handed first baseman in the lineup every day.
Here’s today’s box score, and a recap.
MEMORY LANE: On May 3, 2012 Mariano Rivera suffered a season-ending injury shagging fly balls in pre-game batting practice at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City.
Vic RaschiNYY TRIVIA: On this date 10 years ago, Tanaka’s uniform number 19 was worn by outfielder Bubba Crosby for the 2004 Yankees … Other notable names in team history that wore #19 included Whitey Ford (in 1950, before he was issued the now-retired #16), Al ‘The Senator’ Leiter (2005), Fritz Peterson (1967-1974), Vic Raschi (pictured at left; 1947), Dave Righetti (1981-1990), Aaron Boone (2003), and Dick Tidrow (1974-1979).


Yankees Gear